Ballon d’Or Winners
Ballon d’Or Winners

FIFA Ballon d’Or award is the maximum degree of human award in soccer and it’s given to the best player on earth each year. The history concerning the existing Ballon d’Or award is somewhat complicated so lets explain it temporarily. Ballon d’Or award began back in 1956 and it had been called”European Player Of the year award” and just the players out of europe were qualified for this award. But In 1995 the rules have been changed and any participant playing for European team could acquire it. However, in 2009 it had been merged with”FIFA’s player of the year award” and eventually become FIFA Ballon d’or that any footballer from any region of the planet could win it.

Update: Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2017 Ballon d’or beforehand and now combines Lionel Messi with many Ballon d’Or names with 5 each.

Now lets have a peek at the all previous winners of Ballon d’Or (currently FIFA Ballon d’Or) award. By 1956 just european players were entitled but in 1995 any nationality player playing for a european club has been qualified.

2018Luka Modric (New)CroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalReal Madrid
2012 Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2011Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2010Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2009Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2008Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalManchester United
2007Kaká BrazilAC Milan
2006Fabio Cannavaro ItalyReal Madrid/Juventus
2005Ronaldinho BrazilBarcelona
2004Andriy Shevchenko UkraineAC Milan
2003Pavel Nedvěd Czech RepublicJuventus
2002Ronaldo BrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael Owen EnglandLiverpool
2000Luís Figo PortugalReal Madrid
1999Rivaldo BrazilBarcelona
1998Zinedine Zidane FranceJuventus
1997Ronaldo BrazilInter Milan
1996Matthias Sammer GermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George Weah LiberiaAC Milan
1994Hristo Stoichkov BulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto Baggio ItalyJuventus
1992Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1991Jean-Pierre Papin FranceMarseille
1990Lothar Matthäus GermanyInter Milan
1989Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1988Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1987Ruud Gullit Netherlands AC Milan
1986Igor Belanov Soviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1984Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1983Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1982Paolo Rossi ItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz Rummenigge GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz Rummenigge GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin Keegan EnglandHamburg
1977Allan Simonsen DenmarkBorussia M”nchengladbach
1976Franz Beckenbauer GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg Blokhin Soviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz Beckenbauer GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1970Gerd Müller GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni Rivera ItalyMilan
1968George Best Northern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián Albert HungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1965Eusébio PortugalBenfica
1964Denis Law ScotlandManchester United
1963Lev Yashin Soviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef Masopust CzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar Sívori ItalyJuventus
1960Luis Suárez SpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di Stéfano SpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di Stéfano SpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool

Jury & Selection Procedure: Since 2009 when both Ballon d’Or and FIFA Player of the year award had been merged the choice procedure also revealed to people. All federal team captains and Trainers plus one specialist journalists from each nation can vote for the nominees. For a draft in the place where they must choose three players at decending order and as soon as the drafts are reunite FIFA compute points consideration to next criteria. 1 place select is given 5 points, next choice is third and 3 select has 1 point. So around 500 voters (170 national team captain, 170 nationwide coaches and approximately 170 journalists) options are counted and the player with most points get the Ballon Dor award.